Africa ahead.
Listen. Understand. Act.
Home > News > Unesco and Brazzaville Foundation explore their convergences

Published on December 14, 2022 / Topic : Foundation

Unesco and Brazzaville Foundation explore their convergences

20221214-Unesco-FB

UNESCO and Brazzaville Foundation have many points of convergence that could structure the contours of future collaboration. This is the conclusion of the technical meeting held on December 14 with the executive team of the Foundation and Mr. Tabue Nguma, Head of the Social and Human Sciences Sector at the UNESCO Regional Office in Dakar.

Meeting between Ms. Gabriela Ramos, Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences of UNESCO and Mr. Richard Amalvy, Chief Executive of Brazzaville Foundation on November 18, 2022 at COP27.

This meeting followed a meeting between Ms. Gabriela Ramos, Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences of UNESCO and Mr. Richard Amalvy, Chief Executive of Brazzaville Foundation, who met on November 18, 2022, on the occasion of the COP27 in Sharm el-Sheikh.

 

The first convergence concerns the need to change the narrative on Africa, particularly in the media and in academic circles. It would also be a matter of enhancing the value of African scientific production. To this end, the two organizations could explore the effects of climate change from an academic point of view in order to help find the most appropriate solutions to combine environmental preservation, preservation of animal and plant species and improvement of the well-being of indigenous populations.

 

The discussions also focused on the fundamental role of women in the development of African societies and the need to better include youth in the policy-making and decision-making processes. For UNESCO, as for Brazzaville Foundation, it is also a matter of fostering a political, economic and social environment favorable to peace.

L’Afrique en marche.
Écouter. Comprendre. Agir.
Accueil > Actualités > L’Unesco et la Fondation Brazzaville explorent leurs convergences

Publié le 14 décembre 2022 / Thématique : Fondation

L’Unesco et la Fondation Brazzaville explorent leurs convergences

20221214-Unesco-FB

L’UNESCO et la Fondation Brazzaville ont de nombreux points de convergences qui pourraient structurer les contours d’une collaboration future. C’est la conclusion de la réunion technique qui s’est tenue le 14 décembre avec l’équipe exécutive de la Fondation et M. Tabue Nguma, Chef du Secteur des Sciences Sociales et Humaines au Bureau Régional de l’UNESCO à Dakar.

Rencontre entre Mme Gabriela Ramos, sous-Directrice générale pour les Sciences sociales et humaines de l’UNESCO et M. Richard Amalvy, Directeur général de la Fondation Brazzaville le 18 novembre 2022 à la COP27.

Cette réunion faisait suite à une rencontre entre Mme Gabriela Ramos, sous-Directrice générale pour les Sciences sociales et humaines de l’UNESCO et M. Richard Amalvy, Directeur général de la Fondation Brazzaville, qui se sont retrouvés le 18 novembre 2022, à l’occasion de la COP27 à Charm el-Cheikh.

 

La première convergence concerne la nécessité de changer de narratif sur l’Afrique, notamment dans les médias et dans les enceintes académiques. Il s’agirait en outre de valoriser la production scientifique africaine. À cette fin, les deux organisations pourraient explorer les effets du changements climatiques d’un point de vue académique afin d’aider à trouver les solutions les mieux adaptées pour combiner préservation de l’environnement, préservation des espèce animales et végétales et amélioration du bien-être des populations autochtones.

 

Les échanges ont également porté sur le rôle fondamental des femmes dans le développement des sociétés africaines et sur la nécessité de mieux inclure la jeunesse dans les processus d’élaboration et de décisions politiques. Pour l’UNESCO comme pour la Fondation Brazzaville, il s’agit aussi de favoriser un environnement politique, économique et social favorable à la paix.