Africa ahead.
Listen. Understand. Act.
Home > News > The Togolese Republic signs the MEDICRIME Convention

Published on January 16, 2023 / Topic : Public Health

The Togolese Republic signs the MEDICRIME Convention

20230116-Togo-MEDICRIME

January 16, in Strasbourg - The Togolese Republic, political coordinator of the Lomé Initiative against Falsified and Substandard Medicines, signed the MEDICRIME Convention of the Council of Europe. It becomes the 8th African state to sign the convention.

Mr. Lucien K. Fandjinou, Chargé d'Affaires at the Embassy of the Togolese Republic in Brussels, and Mr. Bjørn Berge, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe, at the end of the signing of the MEDICRIME Convention by the Togolese Republic, © Council of Europe.

Host of the Lomé Summit held on January 18, 2020, which launched the eponymous Initiative to fight against falsified and substandard medicines (FSMs), the Togolese Republic is very much committed to reducing this trafficking which is detrimental to the public health of the populations and the security of the states.

 

In 2022, it has volunteered to launch a pilot a pilot project to develop and implement a national plan to combat FSMs and to model the development methodology so that it can be adapted in other countries that are part of the Lomé Initiative. By signing the MEDICRIME convention, Togo is thus committing itself to a reform of its legislation as provided for in the methodology for developing national plans.

 

The MEDICRIME Convention of the Council of Europe is a binding legal instrument in the field of criminal law. It makes it possible to criminalise the counterfeiting, manufacture and distribution of medical products placed on the market without authorisation, or in violation of safety standards.

 

With observer status in the Committee of Parties to the MEDICRIME Convention of the Council of Europe since May 2021, the Brazzaville Foundation accompanies the signatory countries of the Lomé Initiative against Medicines that Kill in the ratification of international treaties and conventions (African Medicines Agency, MEDICRIME Convention, Palermo Convention), as provided for in the political declaration signed in January 2020 at the Lomé Summit.

L’Afrique en marche.
Écouter. Comprendre. Agir.
Accueil > Actualités > La République togolaise signe la Convention MEDICRIME

Publié le 16 janvier 2023 / Thématique : Santé publique

La République togolaise signe la Convention MEDICRIME

20230116-Togo-MEDICRIME

16 janvier, à Strasbourg – La République togolaise, coordinateur politique de l’Initiative de Lomé contre les médicaments falsifiés et de qualité inférieure, a signé la Convention MEDICRIME du Conseil de l’Europe. Elle devient le 8e état africain signataire de la convention.

M. Lucien K. Fandjinou, Chargé d’Affaires à l’Ambassade de la République togolaise à Bruxelles, et M. Bjørn Berge, Secrétaire Général adjoint du Conseil de l’Europe à l’issue de la signature de la Convention MEDICRIME par la République togolaise, © Conseil de l’Europe.

Hôte du Sommet de Lomé organisé le 18 janvier 2020, qui a permis de lancer l’Initiative éponyme pour lutter contre les médicaments falsifiés et de qualité inférieure (MFQI), la République togolaise est très engagée dans la réduction de ce trafic qui porte atteinte à la santé publique des populations et à la sécurité des états.

 

En 2022, elle s’est portée volontaire pour lancer un projet pilote visant à élaborer et mettre en œuvre un plan national de lutte contre les MFQI et à modéliser la méthodologie d’élaboration afin de pouvoir l’adapter dans d’autres pays partie prenante de l’Initiative de Lomé. En signant la convention MEDICRIME, le Togo s’engage donc vers une réforme de sa législation prévue dans la méthodologie d’élaboration des plans nationaux.

 

La Convention MEDICRIME du Conseil de l’Europe est un instrument juridique contraignant dans le domaine du droit pénal. Elle permet de criminaliser la contrefaçon, la fabrication et la distribution de produits médicaux mis sur le marché sans autorisation, ou en violation des normes de sécurité.

 

Jouissant du statut d’observateur auprès du Comité des Parties à la Convention MEDICRIME du Conseil de l’Europe depuis mai 2021, la Fondation Brazzaville accompagne les pays signataires de l’Initiative de Lomé contre les médicaments qui tuent dans la ratification des traités et conventions internationales (Agence africaine du médicament, Convention MEDICRIME, Convention de Palerme), prévue dans la déclaration politique signée en janvier 2020 lors du Sommet de Lomé.