Africa ahead.
Listen. Understand. Act.
Home > News > Climate finance: with 4C Morocco to strengthen the capacities of the Environment Ministries' executives

Published on December 13, 2022 / Topic : Environment

Climate finance: with 4C Morocco to build the capacity of environment ministry executives

20221209-4CMaroc-Atelier

From December 5 to 9, 2022, in Casablanca, 4C Morocco brought together representatives of the Climate Commission for the Congo Basin and the Climate Commission for the Sahel Region for capacity building workshops. The Brazzaville Foundation was associated.

Surrounded by Ms. Rajae Chafil, Director of 4C Morocco, participants and partners celebrate the end of the workshops.

It was in a studious and good-natured atmosphere that 24 representatives of the member countries of the Climate Commission for the Congo Basin and the Climate Commission for the Sahel Region met in Casablanca, on the initiative of 4C Morocco, to work on the integration of climate change in the planning of the Ministries of the Environment of the member countries of the commissions, and to understand the mechanisms of access to financing while working on the structuring of projects to capture this financing. The Chief Executive of the Brazzaville Foundation, Richard Amalvy, intervened at the end of the session on the theme "Piloting a successful project", calling for the use of methods and tools that guarantee the feasibility of projects.

Richard Amalvy, a professor of organizational management at the School of International and Political Studies in Paris, offered a module on foresight, with an emphasis on how to create powerful impacts, © Brazzaville Foundation.

Indeed, climate finance remains essential for achieving low-carbon, climate-resilient development on the African continent. As the climate finance architecture is complex and in constant transformation, building the capacity of African actors to access climate finance and prepare bankable projects is a crucial condition for the successful implementation of nationally determined contributions (NDCs).

 

It should be remembered that on the sidelines of the COP22 in 2016, the Summit of Action for a continental co-emergence in climate matters, was held in Marrakech at the initiative of H.M. King Mohammed VI. In addition to the two commissions mentioned above, a climate commission of island states was also created at the end of this major summit to concretely engage African countries in the implementation of the Paris Agreement.

 

This meeting was organized by 4C Morocco, in partnership with the Ministries of Foreign Affairs, African Cooperation and Moroccans residing abroad, the Ministry of Energy Transition and Sustainable Development, the Moroccan Agency for International Cooperation (AMCI), the RO4C project of the United Nations Development Program (UNDP) and the Brazzaville Foundation, thanks to a personal contribution from Mr. Jean-Yves Ollivier, Founding Chairman and Goodwill Ambassador of the Congo Basin Blue Fund.

Caption: Ms. Rajae Chafil, Director of 4C Morocco, internationally recognized expert on climate issues.

L’Afrique en marche.
Écouter. Comprendre. Agir.
Accueil > Actualités > Finance climat : avec le 4C Maroc pour renforcer les capacités des cadres des ministères de l’Environnement

Publié le 13 décembre 2022 / Thématique : Environnement

Finance climat : avec le 4C Maroc pour renforcer les capacités des cadres des ministères de l’Environnement

20221209-4CMaroc-Atelier

Du 5 au 9 décembre 2022, à Casablanca, le 4C Maroc réunissait des représentants de la Commission Climat pour le Bassin du Congo et de la Commission climat pour la Région du Sahel, pour des ateliers de renforcement de compétences. La Fondation Brazzaville y était associée.

Entourant Mme Rajae Chafil, Directrice du 4C Maroc, les participants et les partenaires célébrent la fin des ateliers.

C’est dans une ambiance studieuse et bon enfant que 24 représentants des pays membres de la Commission Climat pour le Bassin du Congo et de la Commission Climat pour la Région du Sahel se sont rencontrés à Casablanca, à l’initiative du 4C Maroc, pour travailler sur l’intégration des changements climatiques dans la planification des ministères de l’Environnement des pays membre des commissions, et comprendre les mécanismes d’accès au financement tout en travaillant à la structuration des projets pour capter ces financements. Le Directeur général de la Fondation Brazzaville, Richard Amalvy, est intervenu en fin de session sur le thème « Piloter un projet qui réussit », appelant à utiliser les méthodes et les outils qui garantissent la faisabilité des projets.

Enseignant en management des organisations à l’école des Hautes Études Internationale et Politique à Paris, Richard Amalvy a offert un module sur la prospective, en insistant sur la manière de créer des impacts puissants, © Fondation Brazzaville.

En effet, le financement climatique reste indispensable à la réalisation d’un développement résilient au changement climatique à faible teneur carbone sur le continent africain. L’architecture du financement climatique étant complexe et en constante transformation, le renforcement des capacités des acteurs africains en matière d’accès à la finance climat et la préparation de projets bancables est une condition cruciale pour la bonne exécution des contributions déterminées au niveau national (CDN).

 

Il faut se souvenir qu’en marge de la COP22 en 2016, le Sommet de l’Action en faveur d’une co-émergence continentale en matière climatique, s’est tenu à Marrakech a l’initiative de S.M. le Roi Mohammed VI. Outre les deux commissions précitées, une commission climat des états insulaires a aussi vu le jour au sortir de ce sommet majeur pour engager concrètement les pays africains dans la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris.

 

Cette rencontre était organisée par le 4C Maroc, en partenariat avec le Ministères des Affaires étrangères, de la Coopération africaine et des Marocains résidant à l’étranger, du Ministère de la Transition énergétique et du Développement durable, l’Agence Marocaine de Coopération Internationale (AMCI), le projet RO4C du Programme des Nations Unies pour le Développement (PNUD) et de la Fondation Brazzaville, grâce à une contribution personnelle de M. Jean-Yves Ollivier, Président Fondateur, ambassadeur de bonne volonté du Fonds bleu pour le Bassin du Congo.

Légende : Mme Rajae Chafil, Directrice du 4C Maroc, experte internationalement reconnue sur les questions climatiques.