Africa ahead.
Listen. Understand. Act.
Home > News > Lomé Initiative Health Ministers agree on a common roadmap

Published on August 25, 2022 / Public Health

Lomé Initiative Health Ministers Agree on Common Roadmap


Brazzaville FoundationMeeting on Thursday, August 25 for a working dinner at the invitation of Togo's Minister of Health, Prof. Moustafa Mijiyawa, and Chief Executive , Richard Amalvy, the Ministers of Health of the signatory and candidate countries of the Lomé Initiative were able to discuss common issues in terms of the fight against trafficking of falsified and substandard medicines

Caption (from left to right): Family photo (from left to right): Dr. Benido Impouma, Director Communicable and Non-Communicable Diseases Organic Group, WHO Regional Office in Africa; Dr. Malick Ndiaye, Technical Advisor No. 1 to the Minister of Health and Social Action of Senegal; Pr. Moustafa Mijiyawa, Minister of Health, Public Hygiene and Universal Access to Care of Togo; Dr. Fatoumata Binta T. Diallo, WHO Resident Representative in Togo; Dr. Jane Ruth Aceng Ocero, Minister of Health of Uganda; Mr. Richard Amalvy, Chief Executive of Brazzaville Foundation ; General Gilbert Mokoki, Minister of Health and Population of the Republic of Congo; Dr. Benjamin Bola, Senior Advisor to the President of the DRC on Health and Welfare, © Brazzaville Foundation.

A pooling effort will reinforce the common roadmap in order to share the knowledge acquired on the states' response in terms of legislation and implementation of regulatory authorities at the national level.


Following President Gnassingbé's call to expand the Lomé Initiative to new African states, the ministers unanimously asked Brazzaville Foundation to strengthen the partnership with the African Commission and its services as well as with the operators of the future African Drug Agency.


The signatory countries are the Togolese Republic, political coordinator, the Republic of Congo, Ghana, Niger, Uganda, and Senegal. The candidate countries are the Gambia, Guinea Bissau, and the Democratic Republic of Congo.